I am beside myself with these black beans.  We got them by mistake, and planted them anyway. They were very tasty green.  Then because they were called black beans, and I let them get a bit old on the plants, I decided to see what would happen if I let them dry.  The ones at the bottom are clearly from a green pod.  The upper right beans are from leathery but not totally dry pods. They give slightly to the touch.  The ones at the upper right are from a completely dry pod, as in the middle of the plate.  They are just like the black beans you get in the store.

I am beside myself with joy over these black beans. We got them by mistake (and I can't remember what they were called), and planted them anyway. They were very tasty when green. Then because they were called black beans, and I let them get a bit old on the plants, I decided to see what would happen if I let them dry on the vine. The ones at the bottom are clearly from a green pod. The upper right beans are from leathery but not totally dry pods. They give slightly to the touch. The ones at the upper left are from a completely dry pod, as in the middle of the plate. They are just like the black beans you get in the store. We have many of them out on the vine. I am going to let them dry completely. We'll save some to plant next year and eat the rest.

