There are now three John Deere machines parked in our driveway.  When the delivery was complete, I went out to inspect and drool.  They were parked around our oil drum, otherwise known as Depression Era firepit. I ran inside to get my camera because I thought they should be documented. So much came to my mind about this scene and its social implications that I am writing about it.

There are now three John Deere machines parked in our driveway. When the delivery was complete, I went out to inspect and drool. Sadly, they are not mine; they are the stars of Stan Herd's earthwork project. They were parked around our oil drum, and I immediately associated the scene with the Depression Era fire pits. I ran inside to get my camera because I thought, "This should be documented." So much came to my mind about this scene and its social implications that I am writing about it.

